Pride, Accomplishment and Empowerment

By Mitch Harris, Education and Outreach Associate

When I was in 3rd grade, I had my first speaking role in my small town church’s musical production of “Sermon on the Mound”–the touching tale of how a major league baseball pitcher gave his life to Jesus during the 7th inning stretch.

Although much has changed since I was nine years old, some aspects of that ragtag church show have stuck with me all these years later. I still remember the pride I had when I made the character choice to kneel on my right knee instead of my left. I remember how empowered I felt when I hit the high note during the outfield song. I remember how accomplished the standing ovation made me feel at the end of the show.

It is for these reasons that I am thrilled to join the Paramount team and the Literacy to Life program.  I want to give every student that we work with the pride, sense of accomplishment and empowerment that the creative arts gave me.

This entry was posted in Literacy to Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

