I wouldn’t choose to spend a summer working any other way!

By Lily Judge, Camp Assistant

LillyLast week, the fabulous students of Camp Paramount Session 1 ended their Friday by performing a showcase of songs from the 90’s on the stage of the Paramount for a house full of friends and relatives. Although this isn’t my first summer working here, I never get tired of seeing the finished product at the end of each session of Paramount summer camps!

At our camps, kids of all different ages get the perfect balance of having a great time with old and new friends while also obtaining a super solid amount of knowledge and skills in acting, singing, and dancing. You would think it may be difficult for an eight-year-old to go to camp for seven hours every day for two weeks, but time flies ridiculously fast at camps like ours! The day is full of excitement, activities, and interesting lessons given by knowledgeable and goofy teachers that provide the students with a new experience every single day of camp.  By August, I will have completed my third summer in a row of working here, and to this day I still find times while sitting in on classes where I wish I was a camper myself.

I started out in 2011 as a counselor for the oldest group of kids at Camp Paramount and switched over to the role of Assistant Voice Teacher in the summer of 2012. This summer, as Chad’s assistant, I get a great balance of administrative work experience while also getting a chance to be surrounded by the crazy-fun campers, which, in itself, is basically nonstop entertainment.  I also play bass for the production accompaniment at Camp Paramount shows, meaning I basically get front row seats (in the “pit”) to watch the kids have a blast on the stage as their hard work from the two weeks prior pays off. All in all, I wouldn’t choose to spend a summer working any other way!

This entry was posted in Camps and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I wouldn’t choose to spend a summer working any other way!

  1. great job. keep it up.

Leave a Reply

