The Paramount’s First Teacher Advisory Counsel

teachercounsil

 Last night I met with a great group of teachers who agreed to be a part of my first teacher advisory counsel.  We reviewed the season, study guides, pre-show workshops, and their students’ experiences at the Paramount.  Here were some of the things they had to say:  

“The plays you all do at the Paramount got my students excited about reading!  I couldn’t believe how many students wanted to check out the Junie B. Jones books after they saw the play.  They were flying off the library shelves.”  

 “My students loved the science show!  They still talk about the concepts they learned.  Just this week, a 1st grade student was balancing a ruler on his finger and talking about the center of gravity.”

“The pre-show workshops were wonderful!  The students were engaged and it made them look forward to the play.  The study guides were great too.  I loved having the resource to share the information about the play with the parents, and have ideas to use in the classroom.” 

I also got some very useful feedback such as including Spanish sections in study guides.  I was reminded of how important it is for teachers to be able to convince their principals that our performances connect to the Texas Essential Knowledge and Skills (TEKS).  For many schools, there are very few opportunities for field trips, and connecting our plays to Texas state standards is essential in making the Paramount a strong academic choice for teachers and administrators. 

I got to spend time in each of these teachers’ classrooms this year, and they are all doing amazing work.  I was fortunate that they graciously took the time out of their busy schedules to help me make my program stronger. 

This entry was posted in School Show. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

